Stir Fry.

For my debut I decided to make stir fry, as per my mom’s offhand comment about stir fry earlier that day.

I went online and looked at a few different recipes, and here’s my bastardized version:

2 chicken breasts (cut into thin strips, then cut in half)
2 tbs low-sodium Kikkoman soy sauce
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp garlic (can be powder or minced)

Combine ingredients in ziploc bag and marinate for 30 minutes (or longer if you want the chicken to be more potent).
After marinating, cook chicken in wok or 12-inch skillet (it’s what I used since I don’t own a wok) until cooked through.
Place chicken aside in a container to keep it warm until you are finished with the second step.

3 tbs olive oil
2 cups broccoli
1 cup chopped celery (1/2 in pieces)
1 cup thinly sliced carrots
1 cup green beans
1 green bell pepper
1 small onion, chopped
1 cup water

In a large skillet/wok, heat oil and fry all veggies (4-5 mins) until they are just a little crispy. Add water. Return chicken to pan, cook and stir until all things are well incorporated.

We also decided to add some yakisoba noodles to ours just to give it a little something extra, and it was delicious.

Second came the peanut sauce, because I love dipping the chicken and whole veggies in it.

Peanut sauce:
1/2 cup crunchy PB
2 tbs low-sodium Kikkoman soy sauce
1 tbs minced garlic
1/2 cup water

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan, stirring frequently, it will be finished when the mixture is thick and bubbly.

Leave a comment