Broccoli Quinoa Casserole.

Tonight we wanted to try something vegetarian since we loaded up on veggies for our stir-fry last night, so I found this next gem on Pintrest.

This next recipe is an adapted version of Linda’s recipe from “Eating Well… Living Thin-er“.

On her blog she calls it “Broccoli-Quinoa Casserole”.
Here, I have adapted a few things to make it fit more of my tastes. If you would like to try her original recipe, it is linked above!

To make the mixture:

1 10oz cream of mushroom soup
1/3 cup reduced fat mayonnaise
2 tablespoons milk
1 1/4 cups shredded cheese (I used colby jack, and I only used 1 cup)
1/2 teaspoon stevia
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
A dash of nutmeg

Add to the mixture:
2 cups broccoli (I left mine uncooked, her original recipe calls for cooked but I didn’t want them to be mushy)
1 cup celery (I added celery, so many green things in my fridge and I don’t want them to go bad, so hey, why not!)
1 1/2 cups  cooked quinoa (note that it will double in size from dry! Only need 3/4 cup dry to make 1 1/2 cups cooked)

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a casserole dish (I used olive oil cooking spray).

Straight from her site: “In a large bowl combine the soup, mayonnaise, milk, shredded cheese, Splenda, pepper, and nutmeg until well mixed. Stir in the quinoa and broccoli. Spoon mixture into prepared casserole.  Sprinkle on a couple tablespoons of Parmesan and bake for 35-40 minutes (20-25 minutes for ramekins) or until bubbly on the edges and golden.  Makes 8 generous 1/2-cup servings.

Per Serving: Calories 199,  Protein 10 g; Fat 9 g; NET Carbs 14 g; Fiber 2 g; Sugar 1 g; Sodium 297 mg”

Instead of topping it with Parmesan (not a fan), I topped it with some Pepper Jack for some spice (I loooove spicy food).

2 responses to “Broccoli Quinoa Casserole.

Leave a Reply

